Louisiana Car Insurance
Car Insurance in Louisiana
While Louisiana is called the Bayou State, don’t let that fool you. Louisiana has thousands of miles of roadway to travel. So, whether you are buying a new car or looking for coverage for your 10-year-old vehicle, we make getting a quote on car insurance in Louisiana easy and informed. You will want to keep the information below top of mind as you look for auto insurance coverage that's right for you.
Louisiana's Department of Transportation and Development makes it very clear that every driver must have car insurance. You'll need to keep proof of that insurance somewhere convenient in your car or wallet.
Without proof of insurance, you’ll likely be issued a citation if you are ever pulled over. The office will also require your vehicle registration; the absence of proof of either insurance or registration is justification for issuing a citation.
What is the Louisiana Car Insurance Minimum Requirement?
To legally operate an automobile in Louisiana, you are required to carry the following:
Optional, but highly suggested Louisiana Car Insurance Coverage
Are there other coverage options I should consider?
While there are several additional coverage options available to drivers in Louisiana, it is quite common for a Louisiana car insurance policy to include uninsured/underinsured motorist.
This coverage kicks in to protect you from drivers with no insurance (it happens) or minimal insurance coverage.
What does full coverage mean?
A "full coverage" Louisiana auto insurance policy typically refers to collision and comprehensive coverage. Full coverage insurance is essential for those with newer cars and will be required if you financed or leased your new vehicle
Driving without auto insurance in Louisiana!
Driving without car insurance in Louisiana can have serious repercussions. If you allow your coverage to lapse, your license will indeed be flagged at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Flagging your license prevents you from renewing your registration. In addition, the state of Louisiana may also fine you for the absence of coverage. If you allow your insurance to lapse for 1 through 30 days, the fine is $50 per violation, the fine increases to $150 after day 30, and to $300 after day 90.
What Parents should know about their teen driver in Louisiana.
Louisiana participates in a graduated licensing system. Teenagers, starting at age 15 years old, and older can obtain a learner's permit after successfully completing a state-approved drivers education course, comprising 30 hours of in-classroom training and an additional 8 hours of actual driving. When the permitted driver reaches the age of 17, they may take the Louisiana driving test.
Pending passing the driving test, he or she is eligible for the long-awaited unrestricted license. Typically, insuring a young driver is expensive, sometimes cost-prohibitive. Consider shopping around for their car insurance in Louisiana, if you are still unsuccessful, consider adding your young driver to your insurance policy.
Auto Insurance in Louisiana, Car Insurance Louisiana, Louisiana Car Insurance, Louisiana Truck Insurance, Louisiana Auto Insurance
TWFG Insurance Mobile App!
The safest and most efficient way to communicate with your TWFG Agent and access your Insurance Policy Information.
Follow the step by step instructions below to get you started.
Download Our App:
Setup Your Access:
Once Logged in, You Can:
For more information about the mobile app, please contact Kelly Lee Insurance.
TWFG Mobile App - Kelly Lee Insurance, find you insurance policy, download your insurance policy, manage your insurance policy